Agribusiness Industry Awards Annual Scholarships


Agribusiness Industry Awards Annual Scholarships

Kansas Agribusiness Retailers Association’s (KARA) scholarship committee met in mid-April and awarded nearly $10,000 in scholarships to Kansas high school graduating seniors and current college students for the 2019-20 academic year.

The scholarship committee, comprised of KARA’s membership, received 101 applications and awarded eight students scholarships to assist in advancing their academic endeavors.

“KARA has a long and proud history of providing scholarships to worthy students,” KARA’s president and CEO Ron Seeber said. “We congratulate this year’s recipients and wish them the best with their studies and their future contributions to the industry.”

Each year, KARA awards one $500 Jim Lee Memorial scholarship, five $1,500 KARA general scholarships and one $1,500 Dr. David Whitney Agronomy scholarship.

KARA Scholarships – $1,500 Total

  • Hannah Ballard – Madison
  • Kaden Barker – Tipton
  • Megan Cranwell – Hays
  • John Kennedy – Manhattan
  • Colton Sutterby – Savonburg
  • Ashley Swaim – Delia

Dr. David Whitney Agronomy Scholarship – $1,500 Total

  • Sophie Filbert – Manhattan

Jim Lee Memorial Scholarship – $500 Total

  • Allison Railsback – Mankato