Join us for our Kansas Agribusiness Retailers Association (Virtual) Annual Meeting

2020 KARA Annual Meeting

Join us for our Kansas Agribusiness Retailers Association (Virtual) Annual Meeting

Due to the continued efforts to mitigate the spread of coronavirus (COVID-19), Kansas Agribusiness Retailers Association’s (KARA) board of directors made the decision to cancel the traditional in-person KARA annual meeting and golf tournament.

To adhere to the association’s bylaws, an annual meeting business session virtual meeting will be held at 9:00 a.m., on August 25, 2020, via Zoom.

During the virtual meeting the KARA membership will vote on nominated board members and bylaw amendments, as well as receive a brief state of the association report.

We encourage all members to join our Zoom annual meeting. Voluntary registration with an in-kind contribution to KARA via the button below is much-appreciated, but in no way required to attend the meeting.

We hope you’re able to join us virtually! The information to access the Zoom meeting is below.




Memorandum regarding bylaw changes

To: KARA Members

Re: KARA Board Makeup and Bylaw Changes

Date: July 07, 2020

Following KARA’s strategic planning session in 2019, the KARA Board reviewed the Association membership categories and Board of Director seats to ensure that the Board fairly reflected KARA’s current membership. The Board determined that the current makeup of the Board fairly reflected KARA membership and that no changes were necessary concerning member representation on the Board.

In addition, on February 21, 2020, the Board reviewed the Association bylaws to review outdated provisions, provide for the election of a Second Vice Chair, and make other minor changes deemed relevant and necessary. Specifically, the bylaws were changed as shown at right:


Randy E. Stookey, JD, IOM
General Counsel
Kansas Agribusiness Retailers Association
785.234.0463 |

Detailed bylaw changes

Article IV, Section 1: The current language references retailer membership on the board to be chosen from the “six districts in the state.” Amended to say that Board representation for agribusiness retailers would be “geographically dispersed across the state.”

Article V, Section 1: Amended to require the election of a Second Vice Chairman position as an additional officer on the board.

Article V, Section 2: Amended to:

— i) allow the Chairman to designate the Second Vice Chairman to sit on any standing or temporary committee in his/her place,

— ii) allow the Chairman to appoint any member of the board of directors to serve as the Chairman of a standing or temporary committee, and

— iii) state that, in the absence or disability of both the Chairman and Vice Chairman, the duties of the Chairman or Vice Chairman shall be performed by the Second Vice Chairman.

Article V, Section 3: Amended to state that the Vice Chairman shall “perform all such duties as from time to time may be assigned by the Chairman.”

Article V, Section 4: Amended to state the duties and authorities of the Second Vice Chairman.

Article VI, Section 1: Amended to add the Second Vice Chairman to the Executive Committee, and remove one director from the Executive Committee to ensure that the full size of the Executive Committee stays at 7 directors.


KARA bylaws call for 24 voting members and 2 advisory members (non-voting):

  • 12 Retailer Members
  • 8 Manufacturer/Distributor Members
  • 2 Associate Members
  • 2 At-Large Members
  • 2 Advisory Members



KARA Board of Directors

24 Voting Members (post annual meeting):

Ag Retailers (12)

  • Lance Nelson, Alliance Ag (Haviland/Spearville)
  • Dustin Kuntz, Harveyville Seed (Harveyville)
  • Clark Pearson, Miller Elevator (Reading)
  • Gary Beachner, Beachner Grain (Parsons) *Reelect
  • Justin Foss, Performance Ag (Edson)
  • Bill Garner, AG Choice/MFA (Weir)
  • Tim Gieseck, Garden City Coop (Garden City) *Reelect
  • Jeff Holling, CVA (Beloit) *Reelect
  • Nick Krehbiel, Kanza Coop (Pratt) *New
  • Justin Ochs, Skyland Grain (Johnson) *New
  • OJ Pearl, JB Pearl Sales & Service (Topeka)
  • Dave Spears, MKC (Moundridge)

Manufacturer/Distributor (8)

  • Troy Coon, Gavilon Fertilizer (Nickerson)
  • Kevin Dieckman, LoL/Winfield United (Olathe)
  • Yance Farney, Koch Fertilizer (Wichita)
  • Rachel Hurley, Bayer (Conroe, TX) *Reelect
  • Brian Laverentz, FMC (Overland Park) *Reelect
  • Kevin Mears, Mears Fertilizer (El Dorado)
  • Mark Wegner, ADM (Overland Park)
  • Jami Loecker, Syngenta (Manhattan)

Associated Services (2)

  • Jim Grilliot, Midwest Lab (Hesston)
  • Scott Morris, ProValue Insurance (Hutchinson)

At Large (2)

  • Brian Bucl, Nutrien Ag Solutions (Goddard)
  • Warren Mayberry, Corteva (Austin, TX) *New 

KARA Board of Directors Ballot

  • Gary Beachner, Beachner Grain (Parsons) *Reelect
  • Tim Gieseck, Garden City Coop (Garden City) *Reelect
  • Jeff Holling, CVA (Beloit) *Reelect
  • Rachel Hurley, Bayer (Conroe, TX) *Reelect
  • Brian Laverentz, FMC (Overland Park) *Reelect
  • Nick Krehbiel, Kanza Coop (Pratt) *New
  • Justin Ochs, Skyland Grain (Johnson) *New
  • Warren Mayberry, Corteva (Austin, TX) *New



Association Staff is inviting you to a scheduled Zoom meeting.

Topic: KARA Annual Meeting

Time: Aug 25, 2020 09:00 AM Central Time (US and Canada)

Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 913 6120 2109

Passcode: 396462

One tap mobile
+16699006833,,91361202109#,,,,,,0#,,396462# US (San Jose)
+12532158782,,91361202109#,,,,,,0#,,396462# US (Tacoma)

Dial by your location

+1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose)
+1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)
+1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)
+1 929 436 2866 US (New York)
+1 301 715 8592 US (Germantown)
+1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)

Meeting ID: 913 6120 2109

Passcode: 396462

Find your local number: