Agribusiness industry awards annual scholarships

Agribusiness industry awards annual scholarships

Kansas Agribusiness Retailers Association’s (KARA) scholarship committee met in late-April and awarded nearly $10,000 in scholarships to Kansas high school graduating seniors and current college students for the 2019-20 academic year.

The scholarship committee, comprised of KARA’s membership, received more than 100 applications and awarded six students scholarships to assist in advancing their academic endeavors.

“KARA has a long and proud history of providing scholarships to worthy students,” KARA’s president and CEO Ron Seeber said. “We congratulate this year’s recipients and wish them the best with their studies and their future contributions to the industry.”

Each year, KARA awards one $500 Jim Lee Memorial scholarship, four $1,500 KARA general scholarships and one $1,500 Dr. David Whitney Agronomy scholarship.

The winners of 2020-21 scholarships are listed below with their current town:

Jim Lee Memorial Scholarship – $500 Total

Toby McClure – Hugoton

KARA Scholarships – $1,500 Total

Zachary EckEllis

Caleb StoutCottonwood Falls

Abby VetterRandall

Cooper ZengerMullinville

Dr. David Whitney Agronomy Scholarship – $1,500 Total

Courtney Sherbert – Morganville